Print this page

County Teams

The association runs three County Teams - Under 16 boys, Under 16 girls and Under 18 boys.

Each team competes in two separate competitions - the ESFA National Trophy and the ESFA Northern Counties Trophy.  For the boys, the National competition is straight knockout from Round One while the Northern Counties competition is run in two leagues (East Division and West Division) with the top two teams in each league playing off in semi-finals and a final. For the girls, qualification for the ESFA National Competition is achieved by reaching the FINAL of the Northern Counties competition (2 teams from the North go into the national quarter-finals).  So, the girls have to finish in the top 2 in the East Division and then win their match against a 'top 2' team from the West Division to go into the nationals.

In the Northern Counties boys' competition the two divisions are:

Northumberland, Cumbria, Durham, Cleveland, South Yorkshire and North Yorkshire

Lancashire, Greater Manchester, Merseyside and Cheshire

In the girls' competitions the teams are:

Northumberland, Durham, Cumbria, Cleveland and South Yorkshire

Greater Manchester, Merseyside, Cheshire and Lancashire

See separate pages for the results for:

Under 16 boys 2017-8

Under 18 boys 2017-18

Under 16 girls 2017-18